Print version


The International Competition ?Solo Dance Contest? is a competition for contemporary dance / contemporary ballet solos, intended for artists-dancers, and striving to promote contemporary dance. Organised by Club Żak, the competition is open to contemporary dance artists. The ?Solo Dance Contest 2017? competition attracted 146 solos from 33 countries. Upon due consideration, Club Żak qualified the following 35 pieces for the main competition: 


1. Ravid  Abarbanel / Israel // Underneath

2. Thomas Barbarisi / France // Slave, choreographed by David Llari

3. Korhan Basaran / Turkey // Broken

4. Jernej Bizjak / Slovenia/Holland //Solo for real, choreographed by Fabio Liberti

5. Roni Chadash / Israel // Ani-ma

6. I-Han Cheng / Taiwan // Birdy, choreographed by Hung Chung Lai

7. Tobias M. Draeger / Germany//  Daily madness

8. Samuli Emery / Finland/Austria // Sub / premiere

9. Samuli Emery / Finland/Austria // We do this. We don? talk

10. Pakhamon (Much) Hemachandra / Thailand // Inmost

11. Agnieszka Janicka / Poland// Lead me

12. Willis Marcus Jarrell / USA //  Distinguished gentle-man/ premiere

13. David Maurice Johnson / USA // Liminal red

14. Haruna Kondracka Sayaka / Japan/Poland // Yume / premiere

15. Jung In Lee / South Korea/Austria // Skins

16. Axel Loubette / France // Unit777

17. Alisa Makarenko / Ukraine/Poland // Step by…

18. Massari Carlo Massari / Italy// Don?t be afraid, choreographic collaboration Hun-Mok Jung

19. Marina Miguel / Spain // Woher / premiere

20. Ruri Mito / Japan // Matou

21. Daniel Morales/ Spain // IRM Vol.1

22. Deborah Moreau / France // Skin off

23. Joanna Nadrowska/  Poland // Po tamtej stronie, choreographic collaboration Monika Górka

24. Ieva Navickaite / Lithuania /Switzerland  // Joke?s on me

25. Joaquin Collado Parreno / Spain // Nereo is drowning / premiere

26. Tomasz Pomersbach / Poland // Kamuflaż, choreographic collaboration Anita Szurek

27. Diego de la Rosa / Spain/Germany // Prisoner of his happiness

28. Kenji Shinohe / Japan/Germany// K(-A-)O

29. Sylvaine Soldano / France // Silver wattle

30. Małgorzata Suś / Poland// Checkpoint

31. Joschua  Taake / Germany// The queens room, choreographed by Marek Ranic

32. Maria Novella Tattanelli / Spain// Grab / premiere

33. Zofia Tomczyk / Poland// Valtari

34. Drosia Traintaki / Greece // Souls

35. Monika Witkowska / Poland // I fought piranhas, choreographed by Maciej Kuźmiński / premiere


The organisers are currently waiting for confirmation of participation from the laureates. The competition presentations have been scheduled for 5-9 June 2017 at Club Żak (the presentations will be held as part of the 9th Gdańsk Dance Festival). On behalf of the organisers, we are pleased to invite everyone to Gdańsk!



The jury of the International Competition ?Solo Dance Contest 2017? includes artistic persona ges and contemporary dance experts:

Franz Anton Cramer (Germany), lecturer and researcher who has published on dance performance, founder of the BA course ?Contemporary Dance, Context, Choreography? at HZT Berlin; Ayrin Ersoz, (Turkey) dancer and choreographer, director of the Dance Department at Yildiz Technical University in Istanbul, holder of a PhD degree in dance? Izabela Sokołowska-Boulton (Poland) former soloist of the Danish National Ballet, currently deputy director of the Baltic Opera Ballet and the Baabus Musicalis children theatre? Charliey Morrissey (Great Britain) pedagogue and choreographer working with theatres and galleries, regular collaborator of Siobhan Davies Dance and the NSCD in Leeds? Anna Piotrowska (Poland) artistic director of the ROZBARK Theatre, author of more than 90 choreographies, originator and coordinator of numerous national and international cultural education projects.


More information:


We are using cookies to provide you best experience possible. Click here for detailed information.