Print version


The Netherlands’ Sedrig Verwoert was named the winner of the Eurovision Young Dancers contest on 14 June. The event, one of the most prestigious international dance occasions, was broadcast by TVP Kultura, Polish national broadcaster’s culture channel, live from the Baltic Opera in Gdańsk.

The show was then re-broadcast on 15 June at 12:10 pm on one of Poland’s two main public channels, TVP2. The event was broadcast or will be re-broadcast in every of the participating countries.

This year’s winner, Sedrig Verwoert, is 20 years old. The jury – consisting of dance authoritiesKrzysztof Pastor,Nadja EspirituandCameron McMillan– said in their announcement, “The verdict was unanimous. Sedrig touched us all with his body; he possesses a very sophisticated kind of movement and incredible physical abilities.” The winner received the prize of 7 thousand euro.

The winner of the second place and the prize of 3 thousand euro was Germany’s 17-year-old Felix Berning.

The international finals of Eurovision Young Dancers gathered participants from 10 countries: the Czech Republic (Adéla Abdul Khalegová, 18), Belarus (Yana Stangey, 18), the Netherlands (Sedrig Verwoert, 20), Ukraine (Nikita Vasylenko, 20), Norway (Julie Dokken, 18), Sweden (Stephanie Liekola Isla, 16), Germany (Felix Berning, 17), Armenia (Vahagn Margaryan, 17), Poland (Kristóf Szabó, 19) and Slovenia (Patricija Crnkovič, 15).

Each of the young dancers performed a 1.5-minute solo to the music of their choice, as well as a group choreography prepared by the excellent BalletBoyz, namely Michael NunnandWilliam Trevitt.

The event was hosted by Tomasz Kammel.

The contest’s website:

We are using cookies to provide you best experience possible. Click here for detailed information.