Print version


On Wednesday, 20 March a press conference was held at Polish Television’s headquarters on the Eurovision Young Dancers contest. In attendance were participants of the national finals, as well as Anna Czekanowicz – director of the culture bureau of the city of Gdańsk; Adam Myśliński – finalist of the 2011 Eurovision contest in Oslo and Polish National Ballet dancer; Krzysztof Pastor– director of the Polish National Ballet and the contest’s juror; Grzegorz PańtakandJacek Przybyłowicz– choreographers and jurors of the national finals;Jacek Tyski– choreographer and dancer charged with preparing the group choreography for the national finals; Mariola Wiśniewska from the Department of Art and Culture Education at the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. The conference was hosted by Katarzyna Janowska – direktor of TVP Kultura and Robert Kamyk –TVP Kultura’s head music editor.

On 7 April at 8 pm, Polish Television’s culture channel TVP Kulturawill broadcast the Eurovision Young Dancers national finals, whose winner will represent Poland at the international finals this year taking place at the Baltic Opera in Gdańsk on 14 June.

TVP Kultura, the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, and the Institute of Music and Dance, have shortlisted 10 dancers to take part in the national finals based on their artistic achievement so far:

Katarzyna Ciemniejewska,Julia Hałka,Łukasz Ludwiczak,Katarzyna Markiewicz,Anna Mikuła,Dariusz Nowak,Adrian Radwański,Piotr Stanek,Kristóf Szabó andHanna Wiadrowska.

Each of the national contenders will perform a 1.5-minute solo performance set to the music of their own choice. Moreover, the will appear on stage together in a group choreography prepared specifically for the occasion by Jacek Tyski, soloist of the Polish National Ballet, dancer and choreographer.

The competition will be evaluated by the jury of Ewa Wycichowska– choreographer, teacher, dancer, and director of Polish Dance Theatre; Jacek Przybyłowicz– dancer, choreographer, ballet teacher, and deputy director for ballet at Teatr Wielki in Poznań; and Grzegorz Pańtak– dancer, soloist, teacher of jazz dance and modern jazz, choreographer, and deputy director of the Kielce Dance Theatre. While the jury will be considering their verdict, TV viewers will see an extraordinary choreography by Anna Hop,LAB V.

The Eurovision Young Dancers international finals will be held on 14 June at the Baltic Opera with the participation of ten dancers representing Armenia, Belarus, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Germany, Norway, Poland, Slovenia, Sweden and Ukraine.

The international finals will be one of the most prestigious international dance events held in Poland since 1985. Poland hosted Eurovision Young Dancers finals two times before: in 1997 (at Gdynia’s Dance Theatre) and 2005 (at Warsaw’s Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera).

Visit the website of the Eurovision Young Dancers contest at:

Website of Poland’s Eurovision Young Dancers national finals:

We are using cookies to provide you best experience possible. Click here for detailed information.